Roland Reding

Tax Partner, Certified Tax Expert

Profile

Roland Reding joined MME in 2020. Prior to joining MME, Roland played a leading role in the areas of Financial Services Tax and VAT at a Big Four company.

Roland has extensive specialist knowledge in tax consulting for banks, brokers/dealers, fund/asset managers, investment funds, pension funds, foundations/trusts, credit card companies, leasing companies, financing companies and other companies in the financial industry.

With more than 20 years of professional experience, he has in-dept knowledge of the tax aspects in the financial industry in particular regarding Swiss VAT, stamp tax, withholding taxes, corporate tax, transfer-pricing and foreign source taxes.

Due to his very good network with various specialists in the front, middle and back office at numerous firms in the financial industry, Roland Reding is always very familiar with the current practice of the tax authorities on the various tax matters.

Business activities

  • Dealing with general VAT, corporate tax, withholding tax and stamp tax matters of banks, brokers/dealers, fund/asset managers, leasing business and other entities
  • Tax due diligence, drafting of tax clauses, tax rulings etc. in connection with business restructuring, mergers, spin-offs, sales of business units and acquisitions etc. of banks, broker/dealers and asset managers and other entities
  • Operational tax reviews at Swiss banks, fund/asset managers and other entities, e.g. VAT health checks, transfer pricing analyses, reviews in respect of corporate tax, withholding tax and transaction taxes.
  • Negotiation of advance tax rulings with cantonal and federal tax authorities
  • Appeal proceedings and representation in complex tax audits
  • Investments into and set-up of regulated funds, private equity, infrastructure funds, venture capital, funds of hedge funds investments including tax due diligence, tax structuring and drafting of tax language of side letters, review of subscription document, etc.
  • Implementation of new core banking software, new service offerings, new processes, i.e. correct implementation of the various taxes such as Swiss stamp tax, Swiss VAT, foreign source taxes.
  • International cash pooling projects, national and cross-border leasing transactions, debt financing
  • Support of senior management in the areas of tax governance (tax strategy), tax transparency and tax risk management
  • Tax compliance (tax returns, monitoring of deadlines, documentation requirements)

Education

2004
Swiss Certified Tax Expert
2001
Federal Certified Fiduciary

Languages

  • German
  • English

Practical Experience

since2020
2020 Tax Partner at MME
2004-2020
KPMG AG, Zurich, Financial Services Tax
2002-2004
KPMG AG, Zurich, International Corporate Tax
1996-2001
KPMG AG, Zug, Corporate Tax

Memberships

  • EXPERTsuisse

Roland Reding

Tax Partner

Profil

Roland Reding ist seit 2020 bei MME. Vorher war er bei einem Big-Four Beratungsunternehmen in leitender Position in den Bereichen Financial Services Tax und MWST tätig.

Roland verfügt über umfassendes Spezialwissen in der Steuerberatung von Banken, Broker/Dealers, Fund/Asset Managers, Investment Fonds, Personalvorsorgeeinrichtungen, Stiftungen/Trusts, Kreditkartenunternehmen, Leasingunternehmen, Finanzierungsunternehmen und weiteren Unternehmen in der Finanzindustrie.

Mit mehr als 20 Jahren Berufserfahrung hat er fundierte Kenntnisse der steuerlichen Aspekte in der Finanzindustrie insbesondere betreffend Mehrwertsteuer, Gewinnsteuer, Stempelabgabe, Verrechnungssteuer, Verrechnungspreise und ausländische Quellensteuern.

Aufgrund seines sehr guten Netzwerkes zu verschiedenen Spezialisten im Front-, Middle- und Backoffice bei unzähligen Unternehmen in der Finanzindustrie ist Roland die aktuelle Praxis der Steuerbehörden zu den verschiedenen steuerlichen Themen immer bestens bekannt.

Tätigkeitsgebiete

  • Umfassende Beratung betreffend Aspekte der MWST, der Gewinnsteuer, der Verrechnungssteuer und der Stempelsteuer von Banken, Brokern/Händlern, Vermögensverwaltungs-, Leasing- und anderen Unternehmen
  • Unternehmensumstrukturierungen, Fusionen, Abspaltungen, Veräusserungen von Geschäftseinheiten und Übernahmen von Banken, Brokern/Händlern, Vermögensverwaltern und anderen Unternehmen, einschliesslich steuerliche Due Diligence, Abfassung von Steuerklauseln, Steuerrulings usw.
  • Unterstützung bei operationellen steuerlichen Themen von Banken, Fondsmanagern und anderen Unternehmen: MWST-Health-Checks, Verrechnungspreisanalysen, Überprüfungen in Bezug auf die Gewinnsteuer, Verrechnungssteuer und Transaktionssteuern
  • Verhandeln und Einholen verbindlicher Auskünfte von kantonalen Steuerbehörden und der Eidgenössischen Steuerverwaltung
  • Rechtsmittelverfahren und Vertretung bei komplexen Steuerrevisionen
  • Investitionen und Aufsetzen von kollektiven Kapitalanlagen, Private Equity, Infrastrukturfonds, Venture Capital, Fund-of-Funds Investitionen einschliesslich steuerlicher Due Diligence, steuerliche Strukturierung und Side Letters, Überprüfung des Zeichnungsdokuments usw.
  • Einführung neuer Kernbankensoftware, Dienstleistungsangeboten, Prozessen, d.h. korrekte Umsetzung der verschiedenen steuerlichen Themen wie die Stempelsteuer, MWST, ausländische Quellensteuern
  • Internationale Cash-Pooling-Projekte, nationalen und grenzüberschreitenden Leasing-Transaktionen, Aufnahme von Fremdkapital
  • Unterstützen der Geschäftsleitung in den Themen Tax Governance (Steuerstrategie), Tax Transparency und Tax Risk Management
  • Steueradministration (Steuererklärungen, Fristenkontrolle, Dokumentationspflichten)

Ausbildung

2004
Eidg. dipl. Steuerexperte
2001
Treuhänder mit eidg. Fachausweis

Sprachen

  • Deutsch
  • Englisch

 

Berufserfahrung

seit 2020
Tax Partner bei MME
2004-2020
KPMG AG, Zürich, Financial Services Tax
2002-2004
KPMG AG, Zürich, International Corporate Tax
1996-2001
KPMG AG, Zug, Corporate Tax

Mitgliedschaften

  • EXPERTsuisse