Blockchain | DLT | FinTech

Crowdfunding, Digital Financial Services, E-Money, Value Cards, Digital Currencies, Bitcoin, Tokens

Your goals

The digital revolution has found its way to the financial services industry, disrupting traditional ways of doing business. The same way that Amazon has transformed traditional retail, an increasing number of blockchain (distributed ledger Technology | "DLT") and financial technology (fintech) companies are starting to re-invent the way the financial services industry is conducting business.

In order to successfully set up and operate blockchain or fintech services in Switzerland, regulatory burdens must be overcome and compliance obligations be met. Our team combines knowledge from a legal, tax and compliance perspective and assist you in the management of complex projects.

Our services

Whether you are developing, procuring, or investing in these areas, we understand the opportunities and challenges your business can face. We have been supporting clients from across the full spectrum. New technologies, such as blockchain (distributed ledger Technology | "DLT"), are part of our daily business. This assures that our legal expertise is combined with a thorough technical understanding of the technology underlying our client's business models.

Our blockchain and fintech clients range from established international institutions to some of the world's most innovative startups with the potential to become market disrupters. Our experts remain in close contact with the authorities (e.g. FINMA or tax authorities) and are heavily involved in regulatory projects affecting the industry.

We may assist you in:

  • Setting up and operating blockchain applications (e.g. FIAT/DC und DC/DC exchange services, wallet services, colored coins, DOA's smart contracts, gaming applications)
  • Setting up payment, lending, personal finance and wealth management applications
  • Setting up crowdfunding applications and organizing token generating events (TGE)
  • Assist in entering into the Swiss and European market
  • Minimising the regulatory burdens for digital financial services
  • Dealing with FINMA and self-regulatory organisations
  • Setting up FINMA approved compliance schemes
  • Dealing with tax, VAT and customs authorities in order to set-up a cost-efficient business model
  • Incentives for R&D, IP and other business activities
  • E-Money, Digital Currencies and payment card services
  • Entering into a fintech partnership (partnership agreements, IT/IP and data ownership /licensing agreements, commercialisation strategies)
  • Artifical Intelligence, (PPTX, 3.9 Mb) Big data issues, data protection and data security, management of cyber risks

MME Integrated Approach

We have set up a team of technology, banking, corporate law, distribution, tax and AML experts jointly providing solutions and expertise for blockchain and fintech projects.

MME is a founding member of the Crypto Valley Association (https://cryptovalley.swiss/) as well as the International Token Standardization Association (https://itsa.global/).

We are also involved in the developement of the legislation in Switzerland and Liechtenstein. Noteworthy is mainly Daura, a project to create blockchain-based shares according to Swiss corporate law (http://daura.ch). In addition, Nägele Rechtsanwälte GmbH in Vaduz is our cooperation partner in the field of blockchain technology. MME and Nägele together support DLT projects across borders both in Switzerland and Liechtenstein.

Your team

Contact

In need of legal or tax advice? We look forward to contacting you.

From the magazine

Shares in the Digital Age

In times of digitization, there is a growing need to process more and more legal transactions in a digital framework - also in the area of raising and processing of funds or in general corporate transactions. Within the framework of so-called Security Token Offerings ("STO"), companies limited by shares can, for example, digitally issue shares or participation certificates in the form of tokens and hence facilitate the tradeability of their investments. It must be ensured that, in addition to the digital transfer of the tokens, the shareholders rights are synchronically transferred, fully compliant with local laws and regulations and legally valid.

Consultation Blockchain | DLT

The first step towards digital securities: During its meeting on 22 March 2019, the Federal Council initiated the consultation on the adaptation of federal law to developments in distributed ledger technology (DLT).

Digitize Your Shares!

MME and Swisscom have jointly developed the blockchain-based “daura” Platform that enables Swiss SMEs to now keep their share register simply and digitally, and to conduct capital procurement transactions at the push of a button.

How to declare bitcoins?

The declaration of bitcoins and other digital information units ("tokens") in the Swiss tax return is in practice still unclear. Our article (in German) provides some guidelines.

Crypto Valley Top 50

The market valuation of the 50 largest Blockchain companies in Switzerland and Liechtenstein’s Crypto Valley amounts to $20 billion in the fourth quarter of 2018. MME is very proud to have served more than 50% of these projects and most of the Top 5 with its legal, tax and compliance services.

Synchronisation von DLT und Recht

Blockchain-Systeme sind im Kontext der gesamten Digitalinfrastruktur sowie im Kontext der damit verknüpften Rechtsverhältnisse zu untersuchen. Die Synchronisierung von Token mit dem geltenden Rechtssystem ist ein dabei oft unterschätztes Risiko.

Framework for Crypto Tokens

The current "Block 2" version of the "Conceptual Framework for Legal and Risk Assessment of Crypto Tokens" includes several amendments to the initial genesis version from September 2017. The Framework can be considered in all jurisdictions, regardless of national legal and regulatory frameworks.

ICO Regulation in a Nutshell

In this video, Dr. Andreas Glarner, Partner at the MME Crypto Team, provides a high level overview on how Switzerland’s regulator FINMA assesses ICOs / TGEs based on the guidelines recently published.

ICO Code of Conduct

Crypto Valley Association (CVA), the Swiss-based not-for-profit association supporting the development of blockchain and cryptographic related technologies and businesses, announced the launch of a Code of Conduct for Initial Coin Offerings (ICO).

All magazine reports

Publications

  • Dr. Mónika Molnár,

    Thomas Linder

    Blockchain und Mehrwertsteuer: Verstehen Sie "kybernetisch"?

    PDF

  • Thomas Linder

    Crypto Winter

    PDF

All publications

Blockchain | DLT | FinTech

Crowdfunding, digitale Finanzdienstleistungen, E-Money, Zahlungskarten, digitale Währungen, Bitcoin, Tokens

Ihre Ziele

Die digitale Revolution hat die Finanzbranche erreicht und zwingt traditionelle Geschäftsmodelle zu tiefgreifenden Veränderungen. In der gleichen Weise wie der amerikanische Amazon Konzern den herkömmlichen Detailhandel verändert hat, wird auch das traditionelle Geschäft der Finanzdienstleister von einer zunehmenden Zahl von Blockchain- (Distributed Ledger Technology | "DLT") und FinTech-Unternehmen neu erfunden.

Um in der Schweiz ein Blockchain- oder FinTech-Unternehmen gründen und das Geschäft mit Finanzdienstleistungen erfolgreich betreiben zu können, müssen regulatorische Hürden genommen und die Regelkonformität eingehalten werden. Unsere Fachgruppe kombiniert spezialisiertes Fachwissen aus den Bereichen Recht, Steuern und Compliance und unterstützt Sie bei der erfolgreichen Umsetzung komplexer Projekte.

Unser Angebot

Ob in der Entwicklung, Vermittlung oder bei Investitionen in der Blockchain- oder FinTech-Branche – wir verstehen die Herausforderungen, welche an Sie gestellt werden. Wir verfügen über eine breite Erfahrung bei der Unterstützung von Klienten in sämtlichen Bereichen der Industrie. Neue Technologien wie Blockchain (Distributed Ledger Technology | "DLT") sind Teil unserer täglichen Arbeit. Dadurch ist sichergestellt, dass unsere juristische Expertise auf einem fundierten technischen Verständnis für die dem Geschäftsmodell unserer Klienten zugrundeliegenden Technologie basiert.

Unsere Klientschaft aus der Blockchain- oder FinTech-Branche reicht von renommierten und international bekannten Unternehmen bis hin zu einigen der weltweit innovativsten Startups, die über das Potential verfügen, die Finanzbranche grundlegend zu verändern. Unsere Experten stehen in engem Kontakt mit den Behörden (z.B. der FINMA) und sind bei der Ausarbeitung von Finanzmarktregulierungen entscheidend involviert.

Wir unterstützen Sie:

  • Bei der Entwicklung von Blockchain-Anwendungen (z.B. FIAT/DC und DC/DC Exchange Services, elektronische Bezahlsysteme, colored coin Anwendungen, smart contracts, DOA's und Gaming Anwendungen)
  • Bei der Entwicklung und Betrieb von Lösungen und Anwendungen für den Zahlungsverkehr, persönliche Finanzberatungen und der Vermögensverwaltung
  • Bei der Entwicklung von Crowdfunding-Lösungen und der Organisation von Token Generating Events (TGE)
  • Beim Eintritt in den Schweizer- und europäischen Markt für elektronische Finanzdienstleistungen
  • Bei der Minimierung der regulatorischen Hürden für digitale Finanzdienstleistungen
  • Verhandlungen mit der FINMA und Selbstregulierungsorganisationen
  • Entwicklung und Implementierung von Compliance Programmen, die den Anforderungen der FINMA genügen
  • Verhandlungen mit den Steuer- und Zollbehörden zur Entwicklung eines kosteneffizienten Geschäftsmodells
  • Steuervorteile für Forschung und Entwicklung, geistiges Eigentum und andere Geschäftsaktivitäten
  • E-Money, digitale Währungen und elektronische Kartenbezahlsysteme (Value Card)
  • Kooperationsverträge mit FinTech-Unternehmen (Gesellschaftsverträge, Verträge über IT/Geistiges Eigentum, Lizenzverträge, Vermarktungsstrategien)
  • Artifical Intelligence, (PPTX, 3.9 Mb) Big Data, Datenschutz und Datensicherheit, Verwaltung von Cyberrisiken

MME Integrated Approach

Wir haben eine interdisziplinäre Fachgruppe von Experten aus den Bereichen Technologie, Banking, Gesellschaftsrecht, Distribution, Steuern und Geldwäschereibekämpfung geschaffen, die Ihnen bei der Umsetzung Ihrer Projekte beratend zur Seite steht und bedarfsgerechte Lösungen für Sie erarbeitet.

MME ist ein Gründungsmitglied sowohl der Crypto Valley Association (https://cryptovalley.swiss/) wie auch der International Token Standardization Association (https://itsa.global/).

Wir sind auch involviert in der Weiterentwicklung der Rechtslage in der Schweiz und Liechtenstein. Nennenswert ist hier vor allem Daura, ein Projekt zur Schaffung einer Blockchain-basierten Aktie nach Schweizer Recht (http://daura.ch/). Zudem ist die Nägele Rechtsanwälte GmbH in Vaduz unser Kooperationspartner im Bereich der Blockchaintechnologie. MME und Nägele unterstützen zusammen DLT-Projekte grenzüberschreitend sowohl in der Schweiz wie auch in Liechtenstein.

Ihr Team

Ihr Kontakt

Wünschen Sie, dass wir Sie kontaktieren? Bitte füllen Sie das Formular aus und unsere Berater setzen sich gerne persönlich mit Ihnen in Verbindung.

Aus dem Magazin

Aktien im digitalen Zeitalter

In Zeiten der Digitalisierung wächst das Bedürfnis, immer mehr Rechtsgeschäfte rein digital abzuwickeln – auch im Bereich der Beschaffung und Abwicklung von Finanzierungen oder aktienrechtlicher Vorgänge. Im Rahmen von sogenannten Security Token Offerings („STO“) können Aktiengesellschaften beispielsweise Aktien oder Partizipationsscheine in Form von Tokens digital herausgeben und ermöglichen dadurch die vereinfachte Handelbarkeit ihrer Beteiligungen. Dabei muss sichergestellt werden, dass neben der digitalen Übertragung der Token auch die Aktienrechte gültig übertragen werden.

Vernehmlassung Blockchain | DLT

Der erste Schritt zum digitalen Wertpapier: Der Bundesrat hat an seiner Sitzung vom 22. März 2019 die Vernehmlassung zur Anpassung des Bundesrechts an Entwicklungen der Technik verteilter elektronischer Register eröffnet.

Digitalisieren Sie Ihre Aktien!

MME und Swisscom haben zusammen die Blockchain-basierte «daura»-Plattform entwickelt, mit welcher Schweizer KMU ab sofort ihr Aktienbuch einfach und digital führen sowie Kapitalerhöhungen sozusagen per Knopfdruck abwickeln können.

Wie müssen Bitcoins deklariert werden?

Die Deklaration von Bitcoins und anderen digitalen Informationseinheiten ("Tokens") in der Steuererklärung ist in der Schweizer Praxis noch nicht geklärt. Unser Beitrag dient als Leitfaden.

Crypto Valley Top 50

The market valuation of the 50 largest Blockchain companies in Switzerland and Liechtenstein’s Crypto Valley amounts to $20 billion in the fourth quarter of 2018. MME is very proud to have served more than 50% of these projects and most of the Top 5 with its legal, tax and compliance services.

Synchronisation von DLT und Recht

Blockchain-Systeme sind im Kontext der gesamten Digitalinfrastruktur sowie im Kontext der damit verknüpften Rechtsverhältnisse zu untersuchen. Die Synchronisierung von Token mit dem geltenden Rechtssystem ist ein dabei oft unterschätztes Risiko.

Framework for Crypto Tokens

The current "Block 2" version of the "Conceptual Framework for Legal and Risk Assessment of Crypto Tokens" includes several amendments to the initial genesis version from September 2017. The Framework can be considered in all jurisdictions, regardless of national legal and regulatory frameworks.

ICO Regulation in a Nutshell

In this video, Dr. Andreas Glarner, Partner at the MME Crypto Team, provides a high level overview on how Switzerland’s regulator FINMA assesses ICOs / TGEs based on the guidelines recently published.

ICO Code of Conduct

Crypto Valley Association (CVA), the Swiss-based not-for-profit association supporting the development of blockchain and cryptographic related technologies and businesses, announced the launch of a Code of Conduct for Initial Coin Offerings (ICO).

Alle Magazinbeiträge

Publikationen

  • Prof. Dr. Andreas Furrer,

    Dr. Martin Eckert,

    Dr. Andreas Glarner

    Legal Tech - Die wichtigsten Begriffe

    PDF

  • Dr. Mónika Molnár,

    Thomas Linder

    Blockchain und Mehrwertsteuer: Verstehen Sie "kybernetisch"?

    PDF

Alle Publikationen