Workers from third countries permitted to re-enter

Mid-March, the Federal Council decided to impose entry restrictions for Switzerland in order to contain the coronavirus. Since 11 May 2020, these restrictions have been gradually lifted again. This week, the State Secretariat for Migration SEM issued a press release informing that the Federal Council has completely revoked the corona-related restrictions on the admission of workers from third countries - i.e. countries outside the EU and EFTA - as of 6 July 2020.

The Federal Council has already reopened Switzerland's borders with all Schengen states as of 15 June 2020. As of this date, the free movement of persons between all EU/EFTA states and the United Kingdom is fully reintroduced. The Federal Council also decided that the restrictions on the admission of workers from third countries will also be lifted with effect as of Monday, 6 July 2020.

This will again enable admissions for employment in the tourism or cultural sectors as well as for further education and training courses while working - such as au-pairs, agricultural trainees or youth exchange programs. As before, permits will be issued within the framework of the well-known quota system.

Click here for the press release.

Our experts in the employment team will be happy to answer any questions you may have.

June 2020 | Authors: Michèle Stutz, Nadira Ferhat, Romina Lauper

Your team